Bicycle Colorado Declares 2023 as Year of the eBike

Bicycle Colorado is declaring 2023 the Year of the eBike, and to celebrate, they held a design contest for folks to submit a logo capturing the spirit of riding an eBike in Colorado. They narrowed the results down to three designs and asked members to vote on their favorite. The winner is Lucus J.! Lucus is a first-year student at Rocky Mountain School of Art and Design. Born in Thailand, his family moved to Wyoming where Lucus grew up riding his bike along the Rocky Mountains.

ebike t-shirt

You can pre-order this limited edition t-shirt now at the Bicycle Colorado shop! Pre-orders will ship in April. The purchase of this shirt includes a one-year membership to Bicycle Colorado. Proceeds will support Bicycle Colorado’s continued advocacy efforts to improve safety and access for people who ride eBikes. Congratulations again to Lucus!

Additionally, Bicycle Colorado is thrilled to continue growing the work we helped seed to expand access to eBikes to lower-income Coloradans. In 2020, they managed the Colorado Energy Office’s Can Do Colorado eBike pilot project, and in 2022, they supported the passage of SB-193, the Air Quality Improvement Investments bill that will support a variety of expanded eBike access programs, including a Community Access to Electric Bicycles Grant Program. This grant program will provide funding for the development and implementation of projects to provide access to eBikes for income-qualified individuals in communities around the state. Bicycle Colorado provided technical assistance to the applicants for this most recent grant, and served on the grant award selection committee.

The Colorado Energy Office just announced the winners of 2023’s funding for this program. There is approximately $1 million for 2023 and $1 million for 2024 available, so this program will fund projects next year, too. Seven applicants received a combined total of $908,700 in funding this year: 4CORE (Cortez), CLEER (Garfield County), Community Cycles (Boulder), Fort Collins, Fort Morgan, PikeRide (Colorado Springs) and Routt County Riders. Congratulations to the winners of this year’s grant funding!


Recent Articles




Random Posts You might like

Pin It on Pinterest