Coloradans Crush National Cyclocross Championships

By Shawn Farrell (Executive Director Colorado Cycling)
A large contingent of Colorado riders headed to Wheaton, IL for the 2021 CX National Championships. As always, the results speak for themselves. Colorado took home 13 Stars and Stripes jerseys, and a total of 32 medals. A few of riders even doubled up, medaling in multiple events. It was certainly no surprise that Eric Brunner took the Elite Men’s title. He has not lost a race in a month. Now he will need to decide between wearing his Pan Am Champion’s Jersey or his Stars and Stripes. Decisions, decisions. The betting line must have been close to even for Katie Clouse, who won both the Collegiate and U23 women’s events. Let’s dismount, and get right to congratulating all of these Colorado CX stars:

Winner Matt Davies in the lead

National Champions/Gold Medalists
Martha Iverson – MW 70-74 (DNA Cycling Masters)
Katie Clouse – Collegiate Women Varsity (Colorado Mesa University)
Grant Ellwood – Collegiate Men Club (CU Boulder)
Jake Wells – MM 40-44 (FORM)
Matt Davies – MM 50-54 (AES)
Melissa Barker – MW 45-49 (Feedback Sports)
Colorado Mesa University – Collegiate Team Relay
Kira Mullins – JW 13-14 (Avout)
Sunny Gilbert – SSW (Blue Competition)
Magnus White – JM 17-18 (BJC)
Katie Clouse – U23 Women (Cannondale)
Scott Funston – U23 Men (Blue Competition)
Eric Brunner – Elite Men

Kristen Weber for the Silver

Second Place/ Silver Medalists
Madigan Munro – U23 Women (Trek Factory)
Keira Bond – JW 17-18 (BJC)
Sarah Sturm – SSW (Specialized)
Fort Lewis College – Collegiate Team Relay
Kristin Weber – MW 45-49 (Lockton Full Cycle)
Scott Funston – Collegiate Men Varsity (Colorado Mesa University)
Third Place/ Bronze Medalists
Deirdre Garvey – MW 60-64 (Old School Industries)
Richard Bagienski – MM 75-79
Caleb Thompson – MM 35-39 (Victory Bicycles)
Madigan Munro – Collegiate Women Varsity (Colorado Mesa University)
Ross Delaplane – MM 50-54 (Feedback Sports)
Michelle Bliss – MW 55-59 (White Lightning)
Jorja Bond – JW 15-16 (BJC)
Melissa Barker – SSW (Feedback Sports)
Jake Wells – SSM (FORM)
Kaya Musgrave – JW 17-18 (Bear Nation)
Sunny Gilbert – Elite Women (Blue Competition)
Gage Hecht – Elite Men (Aevolo)
There were plenty of other great performances by our riders. Way to go Colorado Cross Riders!! My apoligies beforehand if I accidentally missed any of you who got in the top 3.
You can check out all of the results here.

Related Articles



Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Pin It on Pinterest