Cyclocross Championships, Colorado Cyclists Rockin’ It

Lakewood, WA–Several Colorado cyclists won their categories this week at the USA Cycling Cyclocross National Championships. Taking first place are: Danielle Arman, Caleb Thompson, Jake Wells, Todd Cassan, Melissa Barker, and Maurine Sweeney. All photos credit to Dejan Smaic.

Here is a complete list of the Colorado racers who cracked the top 10, congratulations to all!

Maurine Sweeney70-741st
Arthur Allen70-742nd
Lee Waldman70-745th
Tim Downing70-746th
Dierdre Garvey60-644th
Todd Cassan55-591st
Steve Laurel55-598th
Omar Dickenson50-546th
Patrick Gallegos50-5410th
Margell Abel50-549th
Tracy Yates50-5410th
Matt Davies45-496th
Melissa Barker45-491st
Kristin Weber45-495th
Lisa Hudson45-498th
Kristal Boni45-499th
Jake Wells40-441st
Melani Carter40-443rd
Karyn Abraham40-449th
Caleb Thompson35-391st
Danielle Arman30-341st
Leslie Ethridge30-346th
Dylan Stucki30-348th

The elite races are today, December 14th and tomorrow the 15th. To watch live coverage this weekend, go to HERE

Here is an excerpt about the race from Bicycling Magazine

By Molly Hurford

This weekend, top cyclocross racers from around the country will swarm to Lakewood, Washington, to contest the USA Cycling Cyclocross National Championships. The elite fields are stacked, with at least five contenders for the win and more than a dozen with podium potential in both the men’s and women’s races. 

Familiar faces—like 15-time national champion Katie Compton and three-time national champion Stephen Hyde—will be on the start line this year, along with some younger riders like Clara Honsinger and Curtis White. Who will win, and how can you watch the racing action? Keep reading:

The Race 

For the first time since the 2010 nationals in Bend, Oregon, the USA Cycling Cyclocross National Championships will return to the West Coast at Fort Steilacoom Park in Lakewood, Washington, outside of Tacoma. Racing will take place Thursday through Sunday, with the elite races being contested on Sunday, December 15, 2019. With new categories like Masters Men 70+ and several additional non-championship races, more than 50 races will take place over the course of the five-day event. Read the rest HERE

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.