Colorado Classic Stage 3 – Golden

By Jessica McWhirt

Chloé Dygert-Owen (Sho-Air Twenty20) pulls it off a third time in a row as she raced solo for her win.

The morning started off tamer than expected, with Hagens Berman / Supermint on the front. Enough riders became antsy as we saw Rachel Langdon (Fearless Femme) take the first attack quickly followed by Katie Hall (US National Team). As soon as they were reeled in, Flavia Oliveira (Fearless Femme) shot off the front followed by her teammate, Rachel Langdon (FFM). 

As attacks lulled, a number of riders faced flats and mechanicals. Fearless Femme attempted to control the pace before the Sprint, but it was Canyon-Sram’s Tanja Erath who won the Bonus Cash sprint. 

Rachel Langdon (FFM) attacks again, followed by Maria Jose Vargas and Andrea Ramirez of Swapit Agolico. They extend their gap to :20 before they’re reeled back in by the hungry peloton. It’s not long until Silvia Valsecchi (BePink) and Rebecca Wiasak (Fearless Femme) attack off the front and create a :45 gap. 

Wiasak and Valsecchi held the longest breakaway in this race until Chloé Dygert-Owen (Sho-Air Twenty20) attacked on the QOM (Queen of the Mountain) climb on Washington St. As we’ve seen over the course of this stage race, Dygert-Owen absolutely has the power and wherewithal to drop the hammer and send it. 

As soon as she hit the summit, Dyert-Owen (T20) put a :10 gap between her and the peloton and no one wanted to chase her down. The Olympic medalist solo’d for seven miles as everyone behind her stared her down. With 1 mile to go, Dyert-Owen (T20) had a :15 gap. Looking over her shoulder, waiting for any attacks, she raced across the finish line alone for the third time in a row! 

Sweeping the Competition Jerseys again, Chloé Dygert-Owen (Sho-Air Twenty20) held on to the Gates Corporation General Classification, Colorado Tourism Office QOM, FirstBank Sprint Leader, and VF Corporation Best Young Rider jerseys. Rachel Langdon (Fearless Femme) deservedly won the VF Corporation Badass Rider Jersey for her numerous attacks and fearlessness. Ayesha McGowan (ALP Cycles Racing) won the Audi Most Inspirational Rider Jersey, another racer who totally deserves that recognition. 

Recent Articles




Random Posts You might like

Pin It on Pinterest